Chronology of the four stories in Pulp Fiction

"Real" Chronology

  1. Vince's and Jules' adventures in retrieving the Briefcase for Marcellus Wallace.

    Their adventures include finding the Briefcase, executing the Encino guys, the accident with Marvin, the Bonnie Situation, meeting The Wolf, meeting Pumpkin and Honey Bunny at breakfast at the Hawthorne Grill, returning to Marcellus' bar where Vince encounters Butch, and then embraces Marcellus. Takes place between 7:20 and 10:30 am. (DVD--C. 3-4; 21-25; 5)

  2. Pumpkin and Honey Bunny and the Coffee Shop Robbery.

    They plan and begin the robbery between 9-9:30 am. Meet Jules and Vince. (DVD--C. 1; 25)

  3. "Vincent Vega and Marcellus Wallace's Wife."

    Takes place the night of the next day after the first two stories. (DVD--C. 5-11)

  4. Butch the Double-Crossing Boxer and "The Gold Watch."

    The Butch story begins in a meeting with Marcellus at the time Vince and Jules bring Marcellus the Briefcase. (DVD--C. 5) The Doublecross and subsequent events take place some unspecified time after the first three stories. (DVD--C. 12-20)

Narrative Chronology